Trustees Whalen and Fisher Re-Elected as Board Chair and Vice Chair

  Posted: August 29, 2018

Holy Family Catholic Regional Division No. 37 (HFCRD) is pleased to announce the re-election of Kelly Whalen as Board Chair and Gary Fisher as Vice Chair.  The nominations and elections took place at the 2018/19 HFCRD Board of Trustees Organizational Meeting earlier today.  Both nominations were uncontested.

Whalen was first elected as Board Chair in 2016 and continues his tenure for at least one more year. First elected as a Ward 4 Sub 3 Peace River/Nampa Trustee in the January 2011 by-election, Whalen is starting his eighth year on the HFCRD Board of Trustees representing Good Shepherd and Glenmary Schools at the board table.  Whalen also served previously as a Trustee with St. Thomas Aquinas Roman Catholic Schools for four years.

“Thank you to the Board of Trustees once again for their vote of confidence.  I am very proud of all our board has accomplished together and I look forward to continuing our work,” said Board Chair Kelly Whalen.  “Catholic education is very important   I am very pleased to work with Vice Chair Fisher for another year on the Board of Trustees leadership team.”

Fisher was first elected as Vice Chair in 2017. First elected as Ward 2 McLennan Trustee in 2013, Vice Chair Fisher has served for four years, representing the Ecole Providence School community.  Beginning his fifth year of Trusteeship, Vice Chair Fisher looks forward to providing consistent leadership for HFCRD.

“Thank you to the Board of Trustees for re-electing me as Vice Chair.  As a resident in McLennan for many years, and a former teacher and Principal of Ecole Providence School, I feel honoured to represent the school community I care so much about,” said Vice Chair Fisher.  “Serving as Vice Chair has given me even further insight into the needs of all HFCRD school communities, and I look forward to working with my fellow Trustees and all HFCRD staff to continue our important work serving our school communities.”


2018/2019 HFCRD Committee Appointments

*The Chair is ex-officio on all Committees.

Facilities Committee

  • Trustee Michaud, Trustee Kuran, Vice Chair Fisher

Ft Vermillion Educational Services Agreement Committee

  • Trustee Michaud
  • Trustee Lizee (alternate)

Negotiations Committee

  • Trustee Lizee, Trustee Fisher, Trustee Kuran
  • Trustee Pozniak (alternate)

Student Discipline and Appeals Committee

  • Whole Board. 3 voting members will attend each hearing.

Teacher Board Advisory Committee (TBAC)

  • Vice Chair Fisher, Trustee Lizee, Trustee Pozniak
  • Trustee Kuran (alternate)

Finance Committee

  • Trustee Kuran, Trustee Michaud, Trustee Fisher


Board Representatives


Alberta Catholic School Trustees Association

  • Trustee Kuran, Board Chair Whalen (alternate)

Alberta School Boards Association Zone 1

  • Trustee Pozniak, Trustee Kuran (alternate)

High Prairie Joint Use and Facilities Board

  • Trustee Lizee, Vice Chair Fisher (alternate)

McLennan Joint Use Facilities

  • Vice Chair Fisher, Trustee Lizee (alternate)

Peace River Joint Use Facilities Board

  • Board Chair Whalen, Trustee Kuran (alternate)

Valleyview Joint Use and Facilities

  • Trustee Pozniak, Board Chair Whalen (alternate)

Peace River Community Services Board

  • Trustee Kuran, Board Chair Whalen (alternate)

Grimshaw Community Services Board

  • Board Chair Whalen, Trustee Kuran (alternate)

Grimshaw Joint-Use Committee

  • Trustee Kuran

Archdiocesan Pastoral Committee

  • Vice Chair Fisher, Trustee Kuran (alternate)